Skip to main content

Journalism students win state honors

Posted Date: 05/19/2020

Journalism students win state honors

Journalism students win state honors


Hudson High School’s newspaper, The Pirate Press, topped their Class A division in this year’s spring contest, winning 33 awards in all from the Iowa High School Press Association.


Writing Awards:


Hudson won four awards for In-Depth News Writing. Senior Sophie Selenke took 1st with her article on bus safety. Selenke also took 3rd place in this category in a collaboration with fellow senior Grace Schwenneker over alternative learning opportunities throughout the state. Junior Kylee Sallee and senior Abby Gaudian tied for Honorable Mention for their pieces on a point system in football and student device change in the district.


Hudson swept the Review Writing category. Senior Brooke Busch led with her 1st place-review over Hurts Donuts. Fellow seniors Klaire Krapfl and Lexi Bergmeier took 2nd and juniors Caitlyn O’Malley and Emilee Steimel, with Sophie Selenke, took honorable mention, with their reviews on salsa and gifts. Freshman Lane Rogers took Honorable Mention the first review he’s ever written-  a piece over Icon Donuts.


Sophomore Linsey Tjepkes took 1st for her profile over 2018 graduate and Pirate Press alum Haley Elder and junior Jetta Colsch won Honorable Mention for her opinion on fundraising. 


Multi-Media Story Awards:


Multi-media is a reference to using various medium to tell a story, from writing to design, to video- often using multiple platforms.


Seniors Abby Gaudian and Klaire Krapfl took 1st in the Multi-Media Feature Story division for their, “Meet the Staff” story of 2019. Juniors Jetta Colsch and Emilee Steimel with sophomore Linsey Tjepkes took 3rd in that category for their collaborative healthy living story. 


Gaudian placed 2nd in the Multi-Media News Story while Krapfl and sophomore Madison Michael took Honorable Mention in that category for a story on apps.


In the open (to all class sizes) Entertainment category, senior Harley Schley and Tara Jochumsen took 1st for a story on strange obsessions. Taking 3rd place was senior Lexi Bergmeier and junior Kylee Salle for their story on new students and staff.


Design Awards:


Senior Grace Schwenneker took 3rd and Honorable Mention for her double-page designs while senior Abby Gaudian and junior Kylee Sallee took 3rd and Honorable Mention, respectively, for single-page designs. 


Hudson won three awards for Infographics. Junior Kylee Sallee and senior Lexi Bergmeier took 1st with their Newbies story. Bergmeier with fellow seniors Morgan Hansen, Tara Jochumsen, Klaire Krapfl Grace Schwennker, Sophie Selenke with sophomore Mac Kelly took 2nd and Honorable Mention for infographics on generation gaps and healthy eating.


Photography Awards:


Sophomore Caroline Mitchell won 1st  in the Feature Photo category with a website feature photo while senior Lexi Bergmeier took 2nd for her feature photo for the February cover.


Freshmen Josie Bergmeier, Ryan Peck, and Lane Rogers along with senior Lexi Bergmeier took 1st in the Photo Story category.  Sophomore Mac Kelly and seniors Klaire Krapf and Abby Gaudian took 3rd.


Illustration Awards:


Sophomore Jake Yoder took 1st, 2nd, and Honorable Mention in the Editorial Cartoon category. 


Yoder also took 1st in the Illustration category where senior Brooke Busch took 2nd and juniors Jetta Colsch and Emilee Steimel took 3rd. 


Publication Awards:


Colsch and Steimel, the website editors for The Pirate Press online, took 2nd for that publication.


Senior Brooke Busch, who oversees the program’s social media accounts, won honorable mention in the open category for social media.


The Pirate Press staff has been named a finalist for the Iowa High School Press Association’s “News Team of the Year” for the 4th year in a row. Hudson won this honor in 2017 and 2019.


Winning work will be available for viewing at a later date on the publication’s website:

Caption: Pictured is the 2019-2020 Journalism 2/3/4 students. These students create the high school newspaper, district yearbook, newspaper website.

Pictured is the 2019-2020 Journalism 2/3/4 students. These students create the high school newspaper, district yearbook, newspaper website